•      
D
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Roughit instead
100 % of users found this review helpful
This place is a ghost town filled with abandoned trailers. I would hardly call it a campground. The pool is in the woods surrounded by trees. The basketball court has 2 substitute roll away courts because they're too lazy to change the nets on the fixed baskets. There is no store on site, you are not permitted to bring your own fired wood, the lake is a swamp with floating sludge and absolutely no amenities nor activities. The owners are annoying. They come around way too often. I took a walk down to the creek with the kids and before I knew it I had the owner behind me asking me what I was doing.... Are you kidding me? I did not feel safe in this place at all. There is no one at the entrance at night and no gate either so who is stop a pyscho from entering at night? No lights, no cameras and no staff. One of my children fell over an above the ground water line in the middle of a site and busted her lip. It's obvious to me why this place is almost abandoned. The owners are too cheap to make improvements that would make this place an attractive destination. I would rough it at Bear Mt before coming back to this place. If you are looking for a real campground DON'T go the Berentsens. It should be called the worst camping in the Catskills.
(...more...)
Camping.com

Unhappy Camper
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 05/30/2014
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
memories
50 % of users found this review helpful
If this is the former patrick henrys campground it was and is a great place my family had the site all the way in the back on stream no water or electricty on it but was the best spot in camp loved it htere and many of loved memories there
(...more...)
courtesy of Campgrounds.com

bruce forste
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 01/12/2014
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
from city to country
100 % of users found this review helpful
so we're form nyc and decided to camp for the first time. we went crazy at rei.com and amazon.com and seemed to have packed everything including a kitchen sink. due to our over-preparedness, we were very comfortable. the campground was spacious and the brook was peaceful. the owners provide running water and electricity- both a lovely surprise! our only complaint was the condition of the bathroom and bathhouse. there are 3 showers and one worked in the ladies' room, unsure of the men's facility. the toilets and sinks were never cleaned and the toilet paper is one-ply in the only bathroom that was stocked. this is very bad in humid weather because it was soggy and wasn't effective at all- bring your own! the website says there's a pool but we couldn't find it. the picnic tables are grungy but we covered it in good quality cover and was satisfied. the owners are super friendly and were prompt to help out when our firewood was wet from the rain earlier that day. there is a store ~2 miles away for essentials so we could buy lighter fluid and paper. the campsite is clean of everything except nature. we'll be back for sure!
(...more...)
Camping.com

S3
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/11/2013
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Excellent
100 % of users found this review helpful
Had a wonderful time. Real camping. Family friendly, there were three children in our group and they had a fun time. Management very friendly and couldn't do enough to help.
(...more...)
Camping.com

soccer mom
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/19/2013
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Can't please some
0 % of users found this review helpful
The review just before this one is obviously from an unhappy camper. That party came in with more adults than they made reservations for and were unhappy when they had to remove an extra tent. If they were so unhappy they should have contacted the owners (which they did not) instead of leaving with out saying one word. We try very hard to please our customers because repeat business is very important to us. The management
(...more...)
Camping.com

Owners
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/19/2013
D
Not Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
Deplorable
0 % of users found this review helpful
Family friendly campground - are you kidding me? The Mr. was pleasant and jovial, you on the other hand Mrs. were a wee bit disrespectful to my wife.. All because there was a pup tent set up along side a 3 man tent. Hell there were multiple tents set up on other sites. I understand why on one of the busiest camping weekends you have a hard time getting campers. The full hook up amenities are atrocious! The electrical hookups are in violation of NEC codes (to which I will be reporting you due to the shear unsafe conditions) I found my water line routed to the uninhabited set of trailers that clearly hadn't been used in quite sometime. Sewer line (if you want to call it that) had no way of creating a seal because it was crushed beyond use. Safety violation I would assume. The pool? rusted parts and peeling paint (other health code violations which will be reported) The bath house -Oh my god get some ventilation and lighting to make it habitable. You guys drove by several times in a single day but can't stop to ask us if there were any problems or how about offering to take the garbage in the back of your carts. (Oh wait that would be customer service -something you clearly know nothing about) Now I understand why when looking for reviews I found only one and it was not very good to boot. It is ashame- you have such a beautiful plot of land to which if you concentrated on what the customers needed instead of throwing down some mulch and maybe add a garbage can up by the pool and modifying the hours of use- KIDS want to swim ! not wait until 1 pm and then have to leave @ 5pm. Customer Service whats that?
(...more...)
Camping.com

camper
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/09/2013
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
nice family place
0 % of users found this review helpful
Great place for a family to spend a few days or week, with a brook to play in and a pond to fish in. Our site was right next to the brook and it's burbling was enough to drown out the interstate not far away (the only downside of the camp that we noticed). The tent platform was a nice bonus. We were attending concerts at Bethel Woods and it was the most affordable place we could find.
(...more...)
Camping.com

campergal
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 08/02/2012
A+
Recommended
Service
Facilities
Campsite
Restrooms
A good example of what a campground should be
100 % of users found this review helpful
This was the first time I had ever been to a commercial campground. All mt prior experience had been Boy Scout camps. I had heard horror stories about commercial sites and expected the worst. Boy, was I pleasantly surprised! Our campsite was clean and spacious. It was obvious that attention and thought had been made. It wasn't just a clearing off the road. The showers and bathroom were clean and in good repair. There was plenty of TP in the stalls and no funky smells. (Not what I expected) There was one incident: a group was playing music loud and kinda drunk and rowdy. Somebody, from management, I guess came and shut them up real well.Good job! A word on Patricia Berentsen: We indicated on our email that we would be coming in late. She left me such a pleasant voicemail with great directions to our site. We found it in the dark, no problem. Thank you all.
(...more...)
courtesy of Campgrounds.com

Boy Scout Dad
The review was
Trip Type:N/A
Reviewed 07/25/2011